La Dolfina edges historic triple, Triple Corona




La Dolfina – 13

Adolfo Cambiaso (10), David Stirling Jr. (10),
Pablo Mac Donough (10), Juan Martin Nero (10)

Ellerstina – 12

Pablo Pieres (10), Nicolas Pieres (9),
Gonzalo Pieres Jr. (10), Facundo Pieres (10)

La Dolfina defeated Ellerstina 13-12 Saturday, December 12th, before an enthusiastic crowd on field number one at Palermo. The win clinched the 2015 Triple Crown for La Dolfina and gave them an unprecedented third consecutive Triple Crown (2013, 2014, 2015), a feat never before accomplished in the history of polo.

Ellerstina and La Dolfina played one another evenly through the first seven minutes of play for the opening 2-2 tie. Facundo Pieres scored the first goal of the game on a 60-yard penalty shot (1-0), that was followed by goals from the field from David Stirling Jr. and Pablo MacDonough (2-1). Facundo Pieres scored the final goal of the chukka on a 40-yard penalty conversion that levelled the score at 2-2. Three minutes into the second chukka a goal from Stirling gave the edge to La Dolfina (3-2). Ensuing goals from Adolfo Cambiaso (penalty shot and a goal from the field) went unanswered, giving La Dolfina a 5-2 advantage after only two periods of play.

MacDonough’s second goal of the day came in the opening 34 seconds of the third chukka and extended the La Dolfina lead to four goals (6-2). Polito Pieres scored his first goal of the match (6-3), but a closing penalty goal from Cambiaso had the La Dolfina lead back at four goals (7-3). Juan Martin Nero gave La Dolfina their eighth goal of the game just two minutes into the fourth for a five goal lead (8-3). A penalty goal from Facundo Pieres kept hopes alive, but it was La Dolfina riding off the field at the end of the first half with a comfortable four goal lead (8-4).

MacDonough pushed the La Dolfina lead back to five goals (9-4), in the opening seconds of the fifth period. Facundo Pieres followed up on his penalty tap to score two minutes later, and Gonzalito Pieres cut the lead back to three goals with his first score of the day (9-6). It was four minutes into the sixth period before the first goal was scored as Cambiaso converted a penalty shot to put La Dolfina on top (10-6). Polito Pieres countered with a goal from the field for Ellerstina (10-7), but Cambiaso’s fifth goal of the game had La Dolfina riding off the field at the end of the chukka with an 11-7 edge.

Nero opened the seventh with a goal that stretched the La Dolfina lead to five goals again (12-7), when Ellerstina fired back. Facundo Pieres converted a 60-yard penalty shot for a goal followed by back to back goals from Gonzalito Pieres. With one chukka remaining in regulation play, La Dolfina was holding on to a two goal, 12-10 lead. A minute and-a-half into the eighth period, Polito Pieres shaved the La Dolfina lead back to a single goal (12-11).

Cambiaso answered back at the 4:04 mark with a 40-yard penalty shot to make it 13-10. Facundo Pieres missed a penalty shot in the waning minutes of the final chukka but stole the ball and made good on a run to goal to bring Ellerstina within a goal of the lead again (13-12). A last furious Ellerstina attack was turned aside in the La Dolfina goal mouth as the ball was driven harmlessly down the field by the La Dolfina defenders, as Cambiaso shot his hand into the air in a triumphant sign of victory.

Cambiaso led the La Dolfina attack with six goals (four on penalty conversions) and was given the Gonzalo Heguy Award for the most valuable player. MacDonough scored three times while Stirling and Nero added two goals each for the win. Facundo led the Ellerstina attack with six goals (four on penalty shots). Polito Pieres and Gonzalito Pieres scored three goals apiece in an effort that came up just short. Nero’s Lack Nut was awarded the Lady Susan Townley Cup signifying the Best Playing Pony in the final, with the Argentine Breeders Association honoring Nero’s Oli Chicha. –Alex Webbe

PROGRESSION: La Dolfina / 2-2 / 5-2 / 7-3 / 8-4 / 9-6 / 11-7 / 12-10 / 13-12
| Sports, Polo, Argentina, Palermo




Played since 1923, the Campeonato Abierto Argentino (Argentine Open Polo Championship) is the successor to the Polo Association of the River Plate Open Championship, which began in 1893. It is the third oldest polo tournament in the world, played at the Hurlingham Club until 1928 and thereafter at Palermo. It is the final leg of the Argentine Triple Crown.


Zone A

Adolfo Cambiaso (10), David Stirling Jr. (10),
Pablo Mac Donough (10), Juan Martin Nero (10)

Cristian Laprida Jr. (8), Hilario Ulloa (9),
Lucas Monteverde (9), Fred Mannix (9)

Agustín Merlos (8), Guillermo Terrera (8),
Guillermo Caset (9), Ignacio N. Astrada (9)

Alejandro Muzzio (8), Francisco Elizalde (7),
Marcos Di Paola (8), Santiago Toccalino (8)

Zone B

Pablo Pieres (10), Nicolas Pieres (9),
Gonzalo Pieres Jr. (10), Facundo Pieres (10)

Ignacio Toccalino (9), Sebastian Merlos (9),
Eduardo N. Astrada Jr. (9), Alejandro N. Astrada (8)

Alberto Heguy Jr. (8), Ignacio Heguy (9),
Bautista Heguy (8), Eduardo Heguy (9)

Diego Cavanagh (8), Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario (7),
Facundo Sola (8), Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (8)


The Polo Encyclopedia
by Horace A. Laffaye
Buy Now >>
Polo in Argentina
by Horace A. Laffaye
Buy Now >>
Profiles in Polo
by Horace A. Laffaye
Buy Now >>
The Evolution of Polo
by Horace A. Laffaye
Buy Now >>

Subscribe to

Members are automatically entered into giveaways and receive breaking international premier polo news notifications and the POLOIST Newsletter.